The new Minneapolis Public Schools Board of Directors, colloquially known as the school board, were sworn in last night. The newly elected members–Abdul Abdi, Fathia Feerayarra, Collin Beachy, Lori Norvell, and Sonya Emerick–joined returning members Adrina Cerrillo, Sharon El-Amin, Kim Ellison, and Ida Jourdain. Interim Superintendent Rochelle Cox was also present for the meeting.

New school board members were voted in by the public during the November 7 city-wide general election. Ellison said the student representatives would be joining the meetings starting in February.

Family and friends of new school board members attended the board's organizational meeting at the John B. Davis Center on January 3.

At the meeting, Sharon El-Amin was voted in as the new chair of the board. El-Amin will now lead school board meetings. Beachy was voted in as vice chair.

Board members were assigned their 2023 committees as presented at the January 3 meeting.