The polls are closed, the tight races tabulated, and we have our City Council for 2024-2025. That’s right –another two-year term.

The newly elected City Council for 2024-2025. In November 2025, voters will elect councilmembers for a full four-year term.

Some standout Southwest Minneapolis moments from the race this year:

  1. City Council President and Ward 8 Councilmember Andrea Jenkins won by 38 votes against Soren Stevenson, the closest race of the election.
  2. Ward 7 candidate Katie Cashman narrowly beat candidate Scott Graham in an open seat race by 59 votes. Longtime councilmember Lisa Goodman did not run for reelection this year.
  3. Council Vice President and Ward 13 Councilmember Linea Palmisano won against three opponents with 65.6% of first choice votes.
  4. Ward 10 Councilmember Aisha Chughtai also won with 61% of first choice votes.

While the election results have been reported by the City of Minneapolis, they're still considered unofficial until the Municipal Canvassing Board certifies final results at a meeting on Nov. 13, at which point they'll become official.

The only wards with new councilmembers are Ward 7 with Katie Cashman and Ward 12 with Aurin Chowdhury. The newly elected City Council will be sworn in January 2024.